Raliat Onatade

Chief Pharmacist and Director of Medicines and Pharmacy, North East London CCG/ICS & Group Chief Pharmacist and Clinical Director for Medicines Optimisation
Barts Health NHS Trust

Dr. Raliat Onatade is Chief Pharmacist and Director of Medicines and Pharmacy for North-East London CCG/ICB designate, Group Chief Pharmacist at Barts Health NHS Trust and Chief Pharmacist for North Thames Genomic Medicines Service Alliance.

Raliat received her undergraduate pharmacy degree from the University of Ife, Nigeria. She also holds a Master’s degree in Clinical Pharmacy from the University of London School of Pharmacy, and a Master’s degree in Clinical Risk Management from University College London. She obtained her Professional Doctorate from Middlesex University in 2019. Raliat has spent most of her career leading advances in UK clinical pharmacy practice. Her academic interests are the development and evaluation of new clinical pharmacy practice models, pharmaceutical care, medication safety and quality improvement. She is the author of over 50 articles and conference abstracts and has won several national awards for her work.

In her role as Director of Medicines and Pharmacy for North East London, Raliat is responsible for ensuring prescribing and medicines optimisation system-wide is safe, sustainable, clinically and cost-effective and supports the ambition to improve population health and reduce inequities in access to high quality health care and health outcomes. She is also very interested in bringing genomic medicine into the mainstream to help achieve this. Professionally, Raliat is an active mentor and coach for colleagues both within and outside of pharmacy. She is also active professionally with leading advisory roles in the development and review of professional standards and the National Overprescribing Review. She is a member of the Royal Pharmaceutical Society Hospital Expert Advisory Group as well as the RPS Advisory Group working with the King’s Fund to help shape a vision for the future of pharmacy practice. In 2018, she was awarded Fellowship of the Royal Pharmaceutical Society for distinction in pharmacy.